Walter Chandoha. Cats. Photographs 1942–2018 Hardcover, 23.7 x 31.6 cm, 2.31 kg, 296 pages

The Cats book takes us on a journey through artist Walter Chandoha's unique archive, which includes a variety of photographs: color studio portraits of cats, black and white street snaps, vintage images taken during cat shows, charming paintings of cats and children, and much more.

Sale price$45.00

Walter Chandoha. Cats. Photographs 1942–2018 Hardcover, 23.7 x 31.6 cm, 2.31 kg, 296 pages

One winter night in 1949 in New York City, Walter Chandoha, a young marketing student and aspiring photographer, spotted a stray kitten in the snow, put it in his coat, and brought it home. Little did he know that he had just met the muse who would determine the course of his life.

Chandoha turned his lens to his new feline friend, whom he named Loco and was so inspired by the results that he started photographing kittens from a local shelter. These images mark the beginning of an extraordinary career that will span seven decades.

Long before the internet and #catsofinstagram, Chandoha delighted audiences with her fuzzy subject matter. From advertisements to greeting cards, puzzles to pet food packaging, his images combined a genuine affection for creatures, a strong work ethic and flawless technique.

Walter Chandoha. Cats. Photographs 1942–2018 Hardcover, 23.7 x 31.6 cm, 2.31 kg, 296 pages

Chandoha's signature glamorous lighting, which brought out each cat's fur in relief, would define the visual vocabulary of animal portraiture for generations and inspire masters such as Andy Warhol, who was inspired by Chandoha's charming portraits in his illustrated book on cats.

Cats delves into the archive of this genre-defining artist, spanning color and environmental studio portraits, black and white street photography, images from vintage cat shows, tender images that combine his children with cats and more.

It's a fitting tribute not only to these alluring creatures, but also to a remarkable photographer who died in 2019 at the age of 98; and whose compassion can be felt in every setting.

Walter Chandoha. Cats. Photographs 1942–2018 Hardcover, 23.7 x 31.6 cm, 2.31 kg, 296 pages

One winter night in 1949 in New York City, Walter Chandoha, a young marketing student and aspiring photographer, spotted a stray kitten in the snow, put it in his coat, and brought it home. Little did he know that he had just met the muse who would determine the course of his life.

Chandoha turned his lens to his new feline friend, whom he named Loco and was so inspired by the results that he started photographing kittens from a local shelter. These images mark the beginning of an extraordinary career that will span seven decades.

Long before the internet and #catsofinstagram, Chandoha delighted audiences with her fuzzy subject matter. From advertisements to greeting cards, puzzles to pet food packaging, his images combined a genuine affection for creatures, a strong work ethic and flawless technique.

Walter Chandoha. Cats. Photographs 1942–2018 Hardcover, 23.7 x 31.6 cm, 2.31 kg, 296 pages

Chandoha's signature glamorous lighting, which brought out each cat's fur in relief, would define the visual vocabulary of animal portraiture for generations and inspire masters such as Andy Warhol, who was inspired by Chandoha's charming portraits in his illustrated book on cats.

Cats delves into the archive of this genre-defining artist, spanning color and environmental studio portraits, black and white street photography, images from vintage cat shows, tender images that combine his children with cats and more.

It's a fitting tribute not only to these alluring creatures, but also to a remarkable photographer who died in 2019 at the age of 98; and whose compassion can be felt in every setting.

Walter Chandoha. Cats. Photographs 1942–2018 Hardcover, 23.7 x 31.6 cm, 2.31 kg, 296 pages

Explorez de nouveaux univers avec nos livres de photographie, véritables œuvres d'art ou carnet de voyage à consommer sans modération

Free delivery in France

*From 89€ of purchase - Shipping within 48 hours

Secure payment

In 3x free of charge from 150€ of purchase - Klarna

Returns & Exchanges

14 days to change your mind

A service at your service

Contact us Monday to Saturday from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m.

CATS

Le livre Cats nous emmène à la découverte des archives uniques de l'artiste Walter Chandoha, qui comprennent une variété de photographies : des portraits en couleur de chats pris en studio, des clichés de rue en noir et blanc, des images vintage prises lors d'expositions félines, des tableaux charmants de chats et d'enfants, et bien d'autres encore.

Prix de vente40,00 €

CATS

Par une nuit d'hiver de 1949 à New York, Walter Chandoha, jeune étudiant en marketing et photographe en herbe , a repéré un chaton errant dans la neige, l'a mis dans son manteau et l'a ramené à la maison. Il ne savait pas qu'il venait de rencontrer la muse qui allait déterminer le cours de sa vie .

Chandoha a tourné son objectif vers son nouvel ami félin, qu'il a nommé Loco et a été tellement inspiré par les résultats qu'il a commencé à photographier des chatons d'un refuge local. Ces images marquent le début d'une carrière extraordinaire qui s'étendra sur sept décennies.

Bien avant Internet et #catsofinstagram, Chandoha ravissait le public avec ses sujets flous. Des publicités aux cartes de vœux, des puzzles aux emballages d'aliments pour animaux de compagnie, ses images combinaient une véritable affection pour les créatures , une solide éthique de travail et une technique sans faille .

CATS

L'éclairage glamour caractéristique de Chandoha, qui faisait ressortir la fourrure de chaque chat en relief, définirait le vocabulaire visuel du portrait animalier pour des générations et inspirerait des maîtres tels qu'Andy Warhol , qui s'est inspiré des charmants portraits de Chandoha dans son livre illustré sur les chats.

Cats plonge dans les archives de cet artiste qui définit le genre, couvrant des portraits en studio couleur et environnementaux, des photographies de rue en noir et blanc, des images d'expositions de chats vintage, des images tendres qui combinent ses enfants avec des chats et plus encore.

Il s'agit d'un hommage approprié non seulement à ces créatures séduisantes, mais également à un photographe remarquable décédé en 2019 à l'âge de 98 ans ; et dont la compassion peut être ressentie dans chaque cadre.

CATS

Par une nuit d'hiver de 1949 à New York, Walter Chandoha, jeune étudiant en marketing et photographe en herbe , a repéré un chaton errant dans la neige, l'a mis dans son manteau et l'a ramené à la maison. Il ne savait pas qu'il venait de rencontrer la muse qui allait déterminer le cours de sa vie .

Chandoha a tourné son objectif vers son nouvel ami félin, qu'il a nommé Loco et a été tellement inspiré par les résultats qu'il a commencé à photographier des chatons d'un refuge local. Ces images marquent le début d'une carrière extraordinaire qui s'étendra sur sept décennies.

Bien avant Internet et #catsofinstagram, Chandoha ravissait le public avec ses sujets flous. Des publicités aux cartes de vœux, des puzzles aux emballages d'aliments pour animaux de compagnie, ses images combinaient une véritable affection pour les créatures , une solide éthique de travail et une technique sans faille .

CATS

L'éclairage glamour caractéristique de Chandoha, qui faisait ressortir la fourrure de chaque chat en relief, définirait le vocabulaire visuel du portrait animalier pour des générations et inspirerait des maîtres tels qu'Andy Warhol , qui s'est inspiré des charmants portraits de Chandoha dans son livre illustré sur les chats.

Cats plonge dans les archives de cet artiste qui définit le genre, couvrant des portraits en studio couleur et environnementaux, des photographies de rue en noir et blanc, des images d'expositions de chats vintage, des images tendres qui combinent ses enfants avec des chats et plus encore.

Il s'agit d'un hommage approprié non seulement à ces créatures séduisantes, mais également à un photographe remarquable décédé en 2019 à l'âge de 98 ans ; et dont la compassion peut être ressentie dans chaque cadre.

CATS

Explorez de nouveaux univers avec nos livres de photographie, véritables œuvres d'art ou carnet de voyage à consommer sans modération

Produits Tendances

DOGDOG
Prix de vente25,00 €
DOG PEOPLEDOG PEOPLE
Prix de vente19,90 €
William Wegman - ÊTRE HUMAIN  | Photographies de chiensWilliam Wegman - ÊTRE HUMAIN | Photographies de chiens
Prix de vente29,00 €
Livre sur les chats - Walter Chandoha. Cats. Photographs 1942–2018Livre sur les chats - Walter Chandoha. Cats. Photographs 1942–2018
Prix de vente40,00 €

Livraison offerte en France

*Dès 89€ d'achat - Expédition sous 48h

Paiement sécurisé

En 3x sans frais dès 150€ d'achat - Klarna

Retours & Échanges

14 jours pour changer d'avis

Un SAV à votre écoute

Contactez-nous du lundi au samedi de 9h à 19h